Writing

The opposite of writing lots

zen-decoIt’s usually when life is getting busy and heavy that I would say keep at it. Write no matter what. Writers generally write, that’s what they do. There’s always an excuse not to write, but the difference between a writer and someone who doesn’t is exactly that. Writing.

I am not writing at the moment. Not in the least.

I have countless excuses at the moment, my main one being my health. I’m not usually one to succumb to excuses either. Well, I try not to. I’m particularly hard on myself. But at the moment I’m not writing at all. Not planning writing. Not editing either. I have plenty of things I should be working on, but I’ve completely lost focus.

Deep breath. Don’t stress it. Your health is important. Gather your energies and recommit when you can. It will come back.

I think I’ve probably posted this sort of post countless times over. It’s what I do when I inevitably hit the low point in my writing cycles. Generally it’s when I’m unfocussed and questioning why I even write in the first place. It’s seldom that I’ve ever totally lacked the energies to write. This time around, I don’t think I’ll be all that hard on myself. I know why I write. I know I can write, and I know it’s a craft I’m good at. I know I’ll come back to it when life starts treating me a little more fairly.

In the meantime I’m focussing on other things. Reading where I can. Gaming all too much. Recouping my energies. Living life and watching it pass by. Thinking to myself that I need to update my blog more, even if it is not about writing at all. I should probably have tagged along with Cassie and started a 30 day blogging challenge.  Maybe I will.

In the meantime, I commit to nothing. Guilt free.

3 thoughts on “The opposite of writing lots

  1. check out my latest blog post! We’ve signed up to do an a-z blogging challenge in April, and you even have Sunday’s off! lol come on 😉 will do you the world of good.

Leave a Reply

