Writing

Back to school

Anyone whose read my blog of late will know that (of late) me and writing just don’t get on. Whether it’s my new job which has sucked the creativity out of me, the irregularity of my roster, laziness, or approaching middle age, I just haven’t written so little and so irregularly for a very long time.

Enough to make me wonder if I have the nuts for this writing stuff because, unlike some, I don’t much enjoy the process at the best of times. Writing is work. What do I get out of it?

Entirely different post, that one.

In an order to spur myself, or maybe just to do something with my lack of writing, I’ve signed myself for Merrilee’s Creativity Workshop. Time wise, it’s a bit of a commitment, taking me up through to August. Having said that though, what am I doing with my writing time right now? Nothing.

So I’m dragged back to class, my writing conscience like a parent dragging an under performing kid back to school. I’m the big kid who should have graduated years ago, but hasn’t. Most of my writing voices say just f*cking write already!

But, because I don’t have the focus or the drive at the moment, I’m hoping this might just be the kick in the ass that I need …

7 thoughts on “Back to school

  1. Oh my gosh, I am so right there with you!! Figuratively and literally. Good luck to both of us in kicking our creative butts into gear over the course of Merrilee’s workshop.

  2. Ah, you said it. I don’t do much writing either, so I’m hoping the workshop will change that πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

