Television

What is David Lynch’s best work?

Ok, well, Ruzkin’s question a few posts back about whether I would rate Blue Velvet above Lost Highway has prompted me to put up a poll about which of Mr Lynch’s films people think is his best. This might not be an overly good idea. How many people have seen his weird film? Well, I guess we will see.

David Lynch is probably best known for the scene to the right there, the Red Room Dream from Twin Peaks. And although I cant find a clip of it, it also inspired one of the coolest scenes in the Simpsons, in Who Shot Mr Burns part 2, and the immortal line of ‘this suit Burns better’.

Right off the bat I’m skewing things a little by only putting a select few of Lynch’s films on the poll, but lets see if we get enough responces to give us an indication on what people think is his best.

7 thoughts on “What is David Lynch’s best work?

  1. I had to think about this very long and hard, but I put Twin Peaks above Blue Velvet. Reason being that despite it being flawed hideously in it’s second season, Twin Peaks made for some bloody compelling television. It showed (at least in season one) how to run a series without having to do the big reveal of the secret. Lost, you could learn a lot from Twin Peaks.

    Also, Twin Peaks inspired me to bake my own cherry pies.

  2. I haven’t seen everything on the list by any means, but Blue Velvet has already stuck out for me, possibly because we did heaps of stuff on the for a movie class in my design/multimedia degree!

  3. Blue Velvet rocks. I used it in a writing workshop (the only one I’ve been to!), because I wondered if it would fit standard storytelling strictures that we were using. It certainly is one of his more straight forward works.

  4. I sorta felt a bit strange about Mulholland Drive when I found out that the first two hours was meant to be a movie length pilot, and that he ‘finished it up’ to release it as a movie. Because the first couple of hours made fine sense, and the rest felt a bit strange … like it has been added on. But I certainly concead to your point about circularity and repetition.

    Having said that, I didn’t like it any less. I’ve loved everything I’ve seen of his. Having said that, I’ve not seen his first two films, or the lesser known ones outside Blue Velvet, Mulholland Drive and Lost Highway.

  5. You left off his latest film work, Inland Empire.

    Consider this film to be the most evolved expression of his ideas; not just because it’s new (an idea that has little merit) but because it is in fact the most evolved of his expressions.

    Similar to Lost Highway, and Mullholland Dr. in that the protagonist undergoes some external transformation due to inner conflict, but the approach used, and the pure unsettling feeling that results, are IMO the strongest of all the recent Lynch output. Despite misguided critical reviews, it is pure Lynch.

    Think other film output by Lynch should be on there as well, like the excellent The Straight Story & Wild at Heart.

  6. Thanks for your comments ByDesign Games! I did consider just putting everything he’s done on the list, but then I figured maybe just the more known works. I’ve heard not so great things about Straight Story/Wild at Heart/Inland Empire, but on your recommendation I might check them all out as soon as I’m able. I’ve still not seen Elephant Man and Eraserhead.

    I’m sorta glad that I haven’t seen them yet because it means I still have more Lynch to dine on!

Leave a Reply

