Writing

So when am I going to write again?

Good question. Right now the situation is sorta like this; three quarters through some sorta strange 80’s drama where me and writing have gone through the horrible break up. Cue montages of me staring out bay windows at night, with rain and neon. Writing is in an open plan studio apartment, drinking milk out of the carton. Will he ring? Won’t he? We, the viewer all knows that this falling out happened because of a misunderstanding …

We can even have all of this while that song from Pretty Woman continues to warble over the scene. Yup, the Roxette one.

At the moment the closest thing I’m doing to writing is talking about writing with a few friends. ‘Have you started writing yet?’. ‘How’s your novel going?’. Well actually, I’m doing better. I’m test reading for Ruzkin, although I feel like I’m cheating because I’m liking the story a lot and not noting as much constructive things as I aughta.

I keep telling myself that I will start writing again. I’ll write in the new year. The 20k novella challenge will be a good way to get me back into things. I can make as many excuses as I want.

Other than writing a ripping good cyberpunk Ruzkin wrote a rather good post recently about how he writes. Someone was talking to him about his book, and how long it took to write it. Not as long as his first two or so, he said (ok, so I’m paraphrasing a little). How do you do it, the friend asks. By just writing, replies our Ruzzie. That’s right. Even when he’s sick as a dog. One day at a time.

There in lies the lesson me thinks. Now I just have to pay attention to it and follow suit.

Speaking of Ruzkin, as I continue to rant, he has a rather good post up about the state of Australia and its censorship laws. I agree with him. I’m not supporting what it’s trying to stop, but I sure as hell hate how they choose to do it.

4 thoughts on “So when am I going to write again?

  1. Thanks for the shoutout, and the test reading. Hopefully this book will be done soon and you can rant at me about the ending! I’ve no doubt that your writing will jump back on track soon. I’ve had months off at a time without putting down a word. I just make sure that as soon as an idea comes along, I milk it dry without waiting or second-guessing.

  2. You will get back into it, you just need the right story and I think that’s something that’s been eluding you for a little while now. Nothing is grabbing you by the balls, leering into your face with its teeth barred, shouting ‘write me!’ while it’s hot saliva drips down your neck.
    You’ll get there.

  3. Damn. That sounds like a good story 🙂 And yeah, you are right about that. Nothing has really grabbed me effectively enough recently. It will come, I’m sure of it.

Leave a Reply

