Gaming

Grandaddy gaming; M.U.L.E. for a new age

Ok, this totally shows my age, and only a person of my rather advanced age will probably be struck with awe inspiring wonder that I find myself inflicted with.

Otherwise, the rest of you can just switch off and assure yourself that I’m going through another of those horribly old and obscure game rants.

M.U.L.E. deserves praise. It was one of the first games I ever played, back on my Commodore 64. 25 years later and there is now an online multiplayer version of the game. So fresh and new you can probably still smell the digital shrink rap on the site.

What M.U.L.E. (Multiple Use Labor Element) was is a basically a four player game where you have 12 turns to get land, develop production and trade to make money. Inevitably it usually ends up fairly competitive, but at the same time, the game scores you on how well everyone did as a whole. Screw each other over at your own risk, because it counts against your success as a team at the end.

It’s a hideously old game, with this online remake coming 25 years after it’s release. But really, there’s not been a game like it since. It succeeds in old school mechanics and gameplay in an age where you had to focus on those details. Graphics and sound were not an area where you could excel.

I’ve not had a chance to try this little gem just yet, but as soon as I’m finished work, I’ll be heading home to fire it up and see how it is. From what I’ve read, very little has been changed of the original formula. Having said that, development is strong and dedicated, so chances are there will be variants and rules yet to come.

Who knows, I might see you all on Irata.

Leave a Reply

