Writing

It starts, one week from now

A week from now, we (and when I say we, I mean you and me and everyone whose crazy enough) will be busy tapping away at our first 1,667 words.

That’s right people. It’s Nanowrimo ’09 time. Time to earn your badge for another year.

If you don’t know what Nanowrimo is, it’s the National Novel Writing Month. At least in the US. Down here in New Zealand we have the equivalent earlier in the year, called Socnoc, or Southern Cross Novel Challenge.

The reason why it’s earlier in the year might have something to do with the placement of Nanowrimo in the States. Nanowrimo sits at the month of November, a time in the US when you probably wouldn’t want to go outside anyway. The quickly approaching winter weather would staunch one possible excuse not to write.

Down here though, Nanowrimo falls on one of the nicer times of the year, making it just that little bit more difficult.

It’s a given that I’m doing Nanowrimo. Hopefully I can drag a few of your kicking and screaming into the madness. Why? You can’t possibly write 50,000 words in 30 days? Well, if you have been following my blog lately you’ll know that I have better reason to be saying that than anyone right now. And if I can enter and attempt it with my pathetic word output at the moment, anyone can attempt it.

So, join me, like you might have joined me for SOCNOC, as I enter this big, bold adventure and blog about it on a daily basis. I’ll keep you up with my ups and downs, and how I’m managing to get through it all. This time around, it might actually be a struggle, and make for some interesting reading.

Also, I’m back in Auckland. Last year, I was kicking out my Nanowrimo effort in Rotorua, and I was (as far as I knew) the only Rotoruaian punching through 50k in 30 days. I had to do my own write ins. This time around, perhaps I might be able to attend a real write in. Yup, gather in a cafe with other like minded writers and just sit there writing. Curiously fun!

What I’m going to write is easy; Agents Provocateurs. I’m about four segments ahead of the game at the moment, in what is turning out to be a tighter written story arc this time around.

So! Whose with me? This is a rally call, dear people. Be brave, be adventurous. Throw yourself into something fun and aim for the stars! Even if we don’t make the 50,000 words together, it will still be fun. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

2 thoughts on “It starts, one week from now

Leave a Reply

