Writing

Auckland is like literature

Compared to Rotorua, Auckland is like all the massive sprawling metropolis’ that I’m used to reading about in books. The one that springs to mind is from the book I actually read when I was leaving Auckland a few years ago; Rats and Gargoyles, by Mary Gentle.

In it, the Heart of the World is a huge big, sprawling mess of a place, where people are everywhere, including places they shouldn’t. Everything is towering and close and cramped. It’s boiling, sweaty, pressed close with humanity. Gardens are mixed close with ancient cathedrals.

In the opening scene, a pig is being hanged for infanticide. Nothing like that happened when I came to Auckland, but it’s a hell of a way to open a book.

In the book I’m reading at the moment, Shadow and Claw by Gene Wolfe (it’s meant to be a classic up there with Lord of the Rings, and Dune) Nessus is a huge, massive, sprawling city, which strangely enough it said to have moved a lot, stretching northwards towards cleaner waters, leaving the old quarters to people who dare not light a candle at night, for fear of what it might draw.

Auckland is just like those two places and more, given what I’ve been used to for the last few years. So many people. Such a pinnacle of civilization, while at the same time showing how uncivilized we can all be as people.

Spring is in the air, which is certainly better than rain in Auckland.

Thankfully the local library systems wireless is working, and it’s free, so as long as I get out to the local library, I can go onto the net, with my wee Eee. Job hunting and blog posting.

And not a lot else at the moment. Like I mentioned, I am reading again. I have a library card, and you figure I would spend a lot of time in the library, but no. There is also flat hunting, as well as job hunting. Just like the characters in Shadow and Claw, and Rats and Gargoyles I’m going through the most grand of quest stories. And I’m ok with it for the moment.

4 thoughts on “Auckland is like literature

  1. Shadow and Claw (and then Sword and Citadel) were among the most baffling and rewarding books I’ve ever read. I can understand why people give up in frustration, because of the way the world is presented – without explanation or mollycoddling. But it’s worth the journey. Getting to the end of Sword and Citadel gave me that same feeling of pure joyful revelation as I experienced when I watched Memento for the first time – so many tangled threads coming together so beautifully.

    Stick with it, if you can. It’s a series that only gets better on the second or third reading.

  2. I’m definitely enjoying it. A bit annoyed with some things like how he wanders in and out of shit, but then just realised that it all does tie together in the end, so paying a lot more attention to stuff I thought was just frivolous. I think I’ll be around for the long haul with this one … its just got too many tiny little morsels that are all too cool. Like finding out about 100 pages in that the sun is red, not yellow.

    Almost done with the Shadow of the Torturer, Claw of the Conciliator is next..

  3. Halfway thru Claw of the Concilliator and things are taking an interesting turn now! I love the books so far. I guess I should get the next just to be prepared.

Leave a Reply

