Writing

A call to arms!

So, I bought the idea up of rewriting the first chapter of a famous book in ones own style. After some thought, and a little reading, I’ve considered to do the foolhardy and take it to the next level.

So! To that end, the Chapter One Rewrite Bookclub; Lord of the Rings.

Ruzkin! Merrilee! Are you two up for the challenge? I have to admit, that I’d be rather interested to see what a chapter one of LotR’s would look like written by either of you.

The rules are simple. Take the first chapter of LotR’s and just write it in your own style. It doesn’t have to follow too close (there’s a bit of crap I wouldn’t mind cutting out), but it has to convey the same story.

Consider it a little harmless fun. But first time going to get June out of the way. Just putting out an expression of interest to you two (and anyone else who might wanna). Cassie’s said yes …

8 thoughts on “A call to arms!

  1. Hmm, sounds like an interesting challenge. I’m in! When does it start, how long do we have to write it?

    Iapetus – I doubt it, as it’s still under copyright. Try the library πŸ™‚

  2. Oh Merrilee… just be careful πŸ˜‰ Tama is famous (at least… to me) for finding new ways to rope me into stuff, once you accept one challenge you’ll find yourself lining up to do other things! lol

  3. I hope you appreciate the irony of your worrying about copyright infringement during this exercise.
    And I do own the book. I’d just like to see them side-by-side.

  4. It would only be copyright infringement if I went “ooh! This is great!” and tried to publish it. But for a fun little writing exercise, this is great, and I usually LOATHE writing exercises.

  5. It’ll start sometime next week, and we have as long as it takes to write about 3-5k (chapter one of LotR’s is a little bit long, plenty of stuff happens). But hell, if you think all that stupid crap about the party should be slashed, do so! Hehe.

    I’ll probably take to this as soon as June is done. Just gotta get SOCNOC done.

    And yup, writing exercises are cool. I come up with really weird ones, as Cassie will atest to.

    Having the text would be cool. But I guess part of the goodness of it all is that you look at the book and then write. Sorta like how you don’t photocopy a book, you write study notes. Less chance of direct plagarism. And I appreciate the irony of that for this exercise too πŸ™‚ But it’s all in the name of fun.

  6. It sounds like a great challenge! Feel free to post it as a member challenge on Kiwi Writers and take advantage of our forums and challenge icons. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

