SOCNOC 09

SOCNOC 2009: Day 14, 6:15pm

16,167 which is up on what I had this morning, but curiously so, because I don’t remember writing 2,000 words. And, the section I wrote wasn’t 2,000 words either. I guess it comes down to how the different versions of OpenOffice does word counting.

Which does make me wonder …

Having said all that, when I move back to my small laptop tomorrow, I expect to find that my word count has plunged back down. All good intentions to write a good deal today, I think I probably barely made the required for the day. Half way is officially tomorrow, a day when we aughta have 25,000 words.

I have to make this, even though I have been entertaining what it might be like to fail this challenge. Maybe I could swap to AP. Have I lost the passion for the project I’m working on? It’s not from lack of ideas, I’ve got plenty of those. The writing style feels a little stilted, but it could just be that the last week has been a rather hard one.

So. It’s going to take some pretty serious work to get out of the shortfall that I’m in.

Stats blocks returning tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “SOCNOC 2009: Day 14, 6:15pm

  1. Sometimes, these writing months just don’t work out. My best ever writing month was close to 100,000, and it wasn’t even a challenge month – just 30 days of sudden clear-headedness and drive. Meanwhile, most of my “challenge” months end in failure.

    16k by the halfway point is 30k a month, which is a novel in 3 months, which is 2 novels and 2 rewrites a year. Dunno how anyone could be dis-satisfied with that.

    keep on going!

  2. Aye, don’t drop down to Halfnoc. You might find it just encourages you to slacken off. Like Ruzkin says, 30k is very respectable! Keep battling, aim for the 50k, and don’t let the shortfall affect your productivity. You’ve had a lot of “I’m not going to make it” comments in the last couple of posts, which says to me that your inner mind is working against you.

    That’s the worst of these hardcore challenges – you start focussing on the count, not the prose.

    Have you tried a couple of small writing sessions, instead of one big one? 1500 words is a lot in one session, but can also be done as three sessions of 500 words. And 500 words is about 20 minutes of writing…

    It depends on what else you have going on in your life, but might work to keep the inner brain appeased.

    Either way, I’ll be watching and cheering you on. Go, Tama!!

    “Here we go, here we go, here we go…”

Leave a Reply

