SOCNOC 09

SOCNOC 2009: Day 8

Right, I didn’t report in yesterday, but that’s ok. This long weekend of mine just shows that you can’t expect to have an entire month of uninterrupted writing. Going into weekends away are almost as much about strategy as they are about writing smart and keeping ahead.

I didn’t write, so the stats block below remains as it is. I’m a little over 4,000 words behind, which is a bit daunting, I have to say, but all I need to do is write 2 hours more than usual and I’ll recover it. Or just keep at my solid pace and I should have recovered (hopefully) near the end of the week.

I might have to write a weekend. That might be no fun at all! We shall have to see how we go, I think.

Whatever phase you might be at with your own writing, keep writing, and write hard! I think the most important thing is to be aware of the stats of the project, and the month, but in the end, don’t be ruled by them, or scared. No shortfall in writing is impossible to overcome without some smart writing.

STAT BLOCK
9055 words, 5 hours writing, 1811 words per hour. 5 cups of coffee drunk. 4281 words behind, will require 2.3 hours at current writing rate to overcome the shortfall.

Leave a Reply

