Writing

“It’s best going into it knowing nothing”

I had that written at the top of my page when I started Agents Provocateur yesterday. I had an idea for the serial since last week, but didn’t want to know too much. I did base it on a scene that I actually did see while living in New Plymouth; a bride standing alone on the waterfront, with a large bridal party nearby, but not next to her. I knew it would be a good starter to a story eventually.

But other than the fact its cyberpunk, and shes some sorta secret agent woman, I know little else, interested in finding it out along the way. What is the state of the world? What is the state of her? I knew that I was instantly risking getting this idea mixed with my love of Aeon Flux, another secret spy woman stuck in a love/hate romance with a guy. I didn’t want Constance to be a hard as nails type dominatrix. She’s my second only female lead as well.

The point of all this is mostly in reply to Chibi (thanks for reading and voting, BTW!). Don’t worry about knowing her background. I don’t. I expect that both the vote results and the choices that happen in the first lot of chapters will probably cement her a little more.

We know she’s tried to marry this guy a few times before, and this time she was ordered to as part of some strange undercover mission. She might be British. That’s about all we know. We don’t know if she’s any good at her job. We shall find out I guess. I guess what I’m saying is that if I don’t know, and you don’t know, then it’s ok to play a little hard and loose with how the plot goes. That’s all part of the fun! I’m not too fussed yet.

I did realize that if it’s expected weekly, then I cant work on it whenever I feel like it. Heh. Hope that’s not a problem.

One thought on ““It’s best going into it knowing nothing”

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing where the story goes. Knowing about the voting before I started, as I was reading through I wondered whether the Principle was going to be the reader in a sense – if that makes sense!
    I am so glad that you’ve finally started your serial fiction as well, it’s been a long time coming.

Leave a Reply

