Writing

What is it with girls?

I started reading Northern Lights (well, the particular volume I was clutching was called Golden Compass) hoping to find that simple joy of reading that I get when I lose myself in a book. I was about two or three chapters in, somewhat dizzied by the phrases and words being tossed around. I’d heard a lot about both the movie and the book, so wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

Unfortunately I needed a movie for the weekend, and got out the libraries copy of the Golden Compass. I recognized everything. Up to a point. The movie was sumptuous and looked lovely. Nicole Kidman was great as the evil character I never even got up to in the book, but I felt very much that there was so much jammed into the movie that it failed to just stop and catch its breath. The movie was as dizzying as the book, for different reasons.

I have to toss the book back. I could read it, but I know what’s going to happen. The movie did make me wish I had read the book first. It would have been a better experience. The movie was ok, but the book had to be better paced.

What is it with girls always being the heroes of all the fantasy books I read? I always ask it, explaining to my colleagues that I probably sound horribly sexiest. Not that I expect my fantasy to be all ponderous, heavy heroes like Conan. I guess after so long in fantasy of guys being the heroes, it’s time for the girls to take the lead. But having said that, maybe I’m just picking up all the books with girl heroes in them.

While Mrs Coulter is a deliciously evil villain, so is Count Dooku. Maybe it’s the cultured side of evil.

Not sure where I’m going with this post at all now … well, my head says, if you’re not happy with the state of fantasy, then write what you wanna read. Well, maybe I will, says me. Maybe I’ll write it as my SOCNOC. What about your IF project, my mind says. Bah. Dammit. I feel I’ve overloaded myself before I’ve even begun this year, but then having said that, a month of it is almost over.

I’ve not asked for comments before, but why not this time … whose you’re favorite literary villain?

2 thoughts on “What is it with girls?

  1. I’m not sure I have a favorite villian, per se. A lot of the fantasy stories I read don’t necessarily have just one villain to peg everything on. In fact, right now, the only one I can think of is Voldemort from the Harry Potter books.

    I think recently, there *has* been an influx of girls taking the lead in fantasy books. I know all of my urban fantasy stories are written with girls as the MCs. And of course, you’re perfectly right – if there’s a lack of it, write it yourself. But it wouldn’t surprise me too much if more boys started popping up. If you’ve noticed it, chances are, someone else has, too.

  2. I think it might have something to do with the horrible lack of male authors … I’m not sure. Not saying it’s a BAD thing, of course. Just observing it with interest.

Leave a Reply

